Which part of the chicken is the nugget?

When I decided to start this blog, I really did not intend for my first post to be about McDonald’s.  I know, I know, everyone goes after McDonald’s, but as I was driving to my friend Joel’s birthday party last night I just happened to drive past the big golden arches of nutritional doom and see their advertisement for 50 Chicken McNuggets for $9.99.  Yeah, think about that for a second.  That is just about 20 cents per McNugget, a very tempting offer to many.  I decided to look up what is in a McNugget.  Here, courtesy of The McDonald’s Corporation website is the list of ingredients: “White boneless chicken, water, food starch-modified, salt, seasoning (autolyzed yeast extract, salt, wheat starch, natural flavoring (botanical source), safflower oil, dextrose, citric acid, rosemary), sodium phosphates, seasoning (canola oil, mono- and diglycerides, extractives of rosemary).    Battered and breaded with: water, enriched flour (bleached wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), yellow corn flour, food starch-modified, salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate, calcium lactate), spices, wheat starch, whey, corn starch. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.”

Does anyone else notice that more than half of those ingredients aren’t actually food?  Antifoaming agent?!?!  What is this, a bad chemistry experiment?  Unfortunately yes!  If you were to make your own chicken nuggets at home, all you need is some chicken, bread crumbs, an egg, and some cooking oil.  Four simple ingredients.  The ingredients in the McDonald’s Chicken McNugget are all there to cover for the fact that the main ingredient, chicken, isn’t really chicken.  Oh, and if that 20 cents per McNugget seemed to good to be true… it is…we’ll all be making it up in healthcare costs.  Both the fast food and healthcare industries are betting on it.

Health Insurers Hedge Bets with Fast Food Stock

9 responses to “Which part of the chicken is the nugget?

  1. Oh man! I haven’t had a nugget in years, but I am always tempted when I go by those golden arches. Now I really can’t indulge! Gross!! Thanks for saving me from myself Brie!! 🙂

  2. I had to do a double-take last night when I drove by the same sign. 50 McNuggets!!! How many does that feed? I hope zero, but I think we’ve all met a few people that would think that was a nice little snack for one.

  3. WOW unbelievable. I’m excited to read your blog lady – keep up the good work!

  4. McCholesterol, McCancer, and McCardiac Disease take many lives each year. I would never step foot in a McDonalds…ever. One time when I was little I was playing in the tunnels at the playground, and som kid had taken a $#!+ in one of the tunnels. I think that right there was a sign for my little 7 year old self.

  5. iamawholehumanbeing

    I hope this doesn’t scare you even further, but check out this bit from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJey_C6GL0k.

    Makes you kinda afraid of what was in that DPDough, huh? 🙂

    • Oh, the Jamie Oliver thing is so gross. I was just talking about that clip with someone on fb too…when he did the experiment with kids in the UK, they wouldn’t eat them. It really says something.
      And OMG, the DPDough! I can’t believe I ate that stuff! It was college…

  6. …and this is what those nuggets look like in the process of being mashed up chicken to nuggets!

    http://early-onset-of-night.tumblr.com/post/1206666159/say-hello-to-mechanically-separated-chicken-its

Leave a Reply

